Snap help

Discuss the various aspects of textile screen printing.
Share your tips & tricks. Ask Questions

Moderator: Moderator Team

Dyfrig
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Snap help

Post by Dyfrig »

I'm new to screen printing so need abit of help.

I'm going to be printing onto fabric, probably cotton or linnen.
I was thinking of using Permaset aqua waterbased inks, anyone now if theses are any good???
Initially I will be using two hinge clamps attached to a normal table. Any idea of how much snap I will need and how to achieve the correct distance. I was thinking of putting small pieces of cardboard under each corner of the screen??

Any help much appreciated.

Dyfrig
d fleming

Re: Snap help

Post by d fleming »

Years ago I used flock adhesive for air dry prints. Can't remember if it was perma set, perma flock, or what. It's been awhile! On a simple table with hinge clamps try to match the front offset to the back offset created by the hinge giving you a screen that is level to table. Cardboard taped to the screen could probably work just fine. Test your ink on a piece of fabric. smear some on, let dry or cure, beat it, wash it try to screw it up. If it works out, print away. You may want to get some spray adhesive to hold fabric in place.
BURNTJava
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by BURNTJava »