Ask specific questions
Give detailed information

Moderator: Moderator Team

ohowson
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Using spray paint to set the stencil

Post by ohowson »

I'm new to screenprinting, and want to just do a few t-shirts at the moment, but I resent the fact that the emulsion alone is going to set me back over £30! I saw a few people using spray paints onto the fabric, but would rather use standard inks. What would happen if I put a paper template on the screen, then spray painted over it? When I removed the paper, would that leave a useable stencil on the screen do we think?

thanks for advice :D
hellbound
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by hellbound »

Interesting idea. Of course you would never be able to reuse the screen for another design. I am sure many (if not all) of the screen printers on this forum would detest the idea. I would think it would depend on the paint that you used, as well as the screen count. Screening fabric is sold in different stitch counts, which means that the silk fabric is woven into squares. Each of those squares represents a count. If you have a 155 count screening fabric, that would mean you have 155 tiny little squares within an inch. I am also quite new to this game, but that is my understanding. The emulsion is thick enough to cover those squares and then hardened by UV light so that no ink can get through those squares. The problem with spray paints is that it is a very thin, liquidy type of application. It would just run through the squares. Unless you did many coats, or found a thicker type of paint.
One other thing that may be an issue is edge clarity. If your design contains any fine lines or any detail at all, I am sure that a construction paper type stencil would not be sufficient enough to give you the fine line detail you are looking for.