Give detailed information

Moderator: Moderator Team

evilcowstare
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

A couple of stupid Q's

Post by evilcowstare »

Hi everyone, im very new to this so please excuse the stupid q's

Ok I have my 1000w halogen on a frame and my screen is coated and in a light safe box drying over night, tomorrow night I plan to do a step wedge test, which if I understand correctly i cover the whole of the emulsion with paper and then slowly take some of it away in time intervals, is this right?

I know this is meant to help work out the exposure times, but what EXACTLY am i looking for when ive done it, ok say ive been doing a test from 1 min to 30 mins and every 5 mins I have taken some more of the paper away, what do I need to look for to know it was the right time, do I need to have an image going across it or is it just the emulsion? How will I know what segment is the right one?

Can I use water-based white ink on a black t-shirt? if so is there anything different I need to do compared to printing onto light material?

And lastly to top it off....

Im using an emulsion coater, how fast should I be coating the screen, sounds stupid I know but is it like a really fast swipe up the screen the again on the other side or should I take my time??

Thanks to anyone that can help me !

Jay
andymac
Intern
Intern

Post by andymac »

regarding the test.

Get some good film with small type and lines. make sure it is opaque. make sure you have enough to expose with your different steps. Make sure it is pressed tight to the screen during the exposure - are you using a vacuum blanket?

when you wash out, the underexposed areas will seem thin, in fact the way underexposed will come off the screens

where it is closer to the right time, the image will be crisp and only the type or image will washout. you will have a few steps that look like this

where it is overexposed, the type or fine lines will close in and not wash out easily. the stencil will be solid