Ask specific questions
Give detailed information

Moderator: Moderator Team

gfxbss
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

photo emulsion and text.

Post by gfxbss »

hey guys, im very new to screen printing and am using speedball's diazo photo emulsion. i am noticing that i am having trouble with text on shirts. the emulsion doesnt wash out the way i would like.

anyone have any suggestions?

Thanks
yaleteamsandtees
Administrator
Administrator

Post by yaleteamsandtees »

Describe the problem.

If the edges are fuzzy, odds are you are under cutting.
(Light from the side)

Or your positive has weak or fuzzy edges.

A little more info and we'll get you fixed up.
gfxbss
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by gfxbss »

the edges are sharp. say if i have an A, the middle part comes off with the rest of it. so you get nearly a triangle. same thing with an e. really, nearly anything with an "inside" to it. ive ended up doing some touch up with acrylic and it doesnt look too bad, and the acrylic wont wash out if it is set properly.

Thanks.
yaleteamsandtees
Administrator
Administrator

Post by yaleteamsandtees »

What mesh count are you using and how are you exposing it?

ie. light source and distance.
Vacuum or foam and weights?
gfxbss
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by gfxbss »

im using 10XX mesh. just a 150w lamp w/ aluminum foil around the shade. about 18in away. experimenting with times. im just putting a peice of glass over my transparent image so it doesnt curl...
ROADSIDE
Administrator
Administrator

Post by ROADSIDE »

mmmm.... under exposure or uneven light source.
.... I can give you my opinion but I can't tell you if it's right or not.
gfxbss
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by gfxbss »

i could see the uneven light even though there are no shadows or anything on it. the exposure time i hope isnt right, as ive been leaving under there for 1-2 hours.
libprints
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by libprints »