Give detailed information

Moderator: Moderator Team

Graphicscom
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

How Do I Price My Screen Printed Items

Post by Graphicscom »

Pricing Your Screen Printed Garments
ok guys, i'm new to the business aspect of screen printing because all i've done with it so far is take 2 yrs of it in highschool. i've recently registered my screen printing company here in south florida. Now i'm trying to get everything organized as far as where to buy all the equipment i need without breaking the bank. my question, and i know it will be tough for me to get an answer for because people are always competing with prices, but i would like some kind of a break down of how and what to charge customers. i do know most of the different things that are charged, for instance, screen fees, art fees, and then so much per shirt.

Post by Guest »

1. You need to know ALL of your expenses in running your shop
2. You need to know your Competition
3. You need to know where you want to be.

There are roughly 176 hours of work per month (give or take). You are only making money while you are working on jobs that are going to bring you in money. By this I mean from starting to finishing the job. i.e. we will generalize this by calling it PRINTING TIME. If the press is running you are (should be) making money. If the press just sits there it makes a nice paperweight. But, you know that you won't be printing 176 hours per month. Most shops are lucky to be PRINTING 40-60% of that time. i.e. 70-105 hours per month. So you need to squeeze all your expenses into those hours (since you are printing and that is when you make your money to cover your expenses and make a profit).