Give detailed information

Moderator: Moderator Team

purpledragon1207
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Blurry Prints

Post by purpledragon1207 »

Hello,
I am new to screen printing, I have printed about 6 different designs, all one color.
I am trying to do a few differnt things, and having trouble with them.

1.... Trying to print my own clothing labels on a 7/8" wide ribbon with fine print, and it seems to come out blurry everytime. I am thinking...either I am coating the ink too thick or maybe my screen mesh isn't fine enough? (I used a 130 mesh on my trial run, its the finest mesh I have right now)
Also, it is very difficult to cure the ink on the ribbon, because the ribbon wants to melt after 15 seconds under the flash dryer.
Any Suggestions????

2....I printed an image that is basically a fine outline of various shapes, the first 4-5 shirts came out great, then the image became blurry and more blurry with every print, after about the 9th print I could print it anymore it was so blurry. I know that I didn't spray my paddles between every shirt, could that have anything to do with it?

3.... Sticky Paddles! I have a 6 color 4 station press, and a flash dryer to cure, which sits about 1-2" higher than the paddles. The paddles are becoming really sticky and tacky after drying under the flash dryer. Is this normal? How do I clean it up? Am I using too much spray?

Any suggestions are very helpful!
:D Thanks
dizzytoledo
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Re: Blurry Prints

Post by dizzytoledo »

Well it could be a plethora of things. 1) are you tacking down the labels on the platen? 2) Are your screens clamped hard enough and the press? 3) Are you changing your squeegee angle/direction after every stroke? Try using water-based inks so you won't have to cure them.