Need Help Rendering Detailed Art/Gradients

Are you looking for a specific art work?
Share your art work, clipart exchange.
Tips Tricks & Secrets

Moderator: Moderator Team

Satriani
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Need Help Rendering Detailed Art/Gradients

Post by Satriani »

I'm a graphic designer/illustrator currently working contract jobs for a local screen print shop. I make logos and art in Illustrator for clothing. I've just been asked to create art for a union shirt, comparable to other union designs. They're somewhat advanced and I simply don't understand how such detailed art is converted through screen printing. I've attached an example featuring various gradients/shade variations.

Although I'm not advanced in the practice, I understand the basic process of color separation in Illustrator. And I could confidently create detailed line art in black pen and transfer that into screen print-friendly design. But I don't get how so many colors and delicate tones - seemingly airbrushed - in such a highly detailed illustration can be accomplished through screen printing. Does it have to be created entirely in Photoshop or Illustrator? Is it a matter of mastering the Gradient Mesh tool? I can't find any good resources on this anywhere. If someone has a walkthrough/tutorial on a highly detailed shirt design, I'd very much appreciate access to it.
Attachments
uniondesign.jpg
uniondesign.jpg (108.99 KiB) Viewed 6034 times
Viper99
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Re: Need Help Rendering Detailed Art/Gradients

Post by Viper99 »

Look at www.advancedtshirts.com . Their tutorials will help you tremendously!
iloveprint
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by iloveprint »

That's certainly an interesting site to try out. Thank you for sharing this.
Dynamik Graphics
Just Browsing
Just Browsing

Post by Dynamik Graphics »

Can't see your original pic due to errors, but I'm going to assume it's a design that's beyond the limits of vector-based art.